Board of Trustees

The Foundation’s Board of Trustees is elected annually in November for three-year terms. Board members are responsible for providing governance, advocacy, and philanthropic support to advance the mission of the Foundation. One-quarter of the trustees are appointed by the University’s Board of Regents. Below are the current Foundation Trustees.


Michael B. Fiterman, Chair
Chairman and CEO
Liberty Diversified International
Lynn Casey, Secretary
Chair and CEO
Robert E. Buuck, Vice Chair
Retired CEO
American Medical Systems
Deborah L. Hopp, Past Chair
Vice President of Publishing,
MSP Communications
Publisher, Mpls.St.PaulMagazine and
Ross Levin, Vice Chair
Founding Principal and President
Accredited Investors Inc.
Kathleen M. Schmidlkofer, President and CEO
University of Minnesota Foundation
Michael F. Roman, Treasurer
Executive Vice President, Industrial Business Group
3M Company

Other members

Patti Andreini Arnold
Former Chief Operating Officer
University of Minnesota Physicians
Richard L. Lindstrom, M.D.
Minnesota Eye Consultants
Scott Augustine, M.D.
Founder and CEO
Augustine Biomedical & Design
Walter F. Ling*
Retired Vice President and Minnesota Senior State Executive
Ruth Bachman*
Chair, Community Advisory Board,
Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota
Susan I. Marvin
Vice Chair
Marvin Windows and Doors
Shari L. Ballard
Senior Executive Vice President and President of U.S. Retail
Best Buy Co.
David J. McMillan*
Regent, University of Minnesota
Executive Vice President
Minnesota Power
Richard B. Beeson, Jr.*
Regent, University of Minnesota
EVP, Corporate Development & Government Relations, Sunrise Bank
David J. Meyer*
CEO & Chairman
Titan Machinery, Inc.
Mary Brainerd*
President and CEO
Virginia H. Morris
Hubbard Radio
Blythe A. Brenden
Blythe Brenden-Mann Foundation
Thomas G. Olson
Retired Managing Director
Prime Mortgage
Linda A. Cohen, Ph.D.*
Regent, University of Minnesota
Richard T. Ostlund, J.D.
Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie P.A.
Michael J. Davis, J.D.
U.S. District Court, District of Minnesota
Christopher J. Policinski
President and CEO
Land O’Lakes, Inc
Richard K. Davis*
Chairman, President and CEO
U.S. Bancorp
Susan Park Rani
President and CEO
Rani Engineering
Archie Givens, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
Givens Development
Philip E. Soran
Executive Chairman
Russell Huffer
Retired Chairman and CEO
Apogee Enterprises
Erik Torgerson*
Senior Advisor
Norwest Equity Partners
Ezell Jones
Vice President of Business Development and Relationship Management
CBIZ Insurance Services, Inc.
Bradford W. Wallin
Minneapolis Grain Exchange
Eric W. Kaler, Ph.D.*
University of Minnesota
Kevin F. Warren, J.D.
Chief Operating Officer
Minnesota Vikings
Erwin A. Kelen
Kelen Ventures
Brian D. Wenger, J.D.
Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer
Richard M. Kruger
Chairman, President, and CEO
Imperial Oil Limited
Jacqueline R. Williams-Roll
Senior Vice President Human Resource Operations
General Mills
John E. Lindahl
Norwest Equity Partners
Kurt D. Winkelmann
Managing Director and
Head of Risk & Analytical Research
  Simon KaWo Wong*
Group Chairman
Kampery Group, Hong Kong

* Regent-nominated trustees