Board of Trustees

The Foundation’s Board of Trustees is elected annually in November for three-year terms. Board members are responsible for providing governance, advocacy, and philanthropic support to advance the mission of the Foundation. One-quarter of the trustees are appointed by the University’s Board of Regents. Below are the current Foundation Trustees.


Lynn Casey, Chair
Chair and CEO
Shari L. Ballard, Vice Chair*
Former Senior Executive Vice President
Best Buy Co.
John E. Lindahl, Vice Chair
Norwest Equity Partners
Thomas G. Olson, Secretary
Retired Managing Director
Prime Mortgage
Erik M. Torgerson, Treasurer*
Folden Hills Partners LLC
Kathleen M. Schmidlkofer, President and CEO
University of Minnesota Foundation
Ross Levin, Past Chair
CEO and Founder
Accredited Investors Inc.

Other members

Thomas J. Anderson*
Regent, University of Minnesota
Anderson Funeral Home
Walter F. Ling*
Retired Vice President and Minnesota Senior State Executive
Scott Augustine, M.D.
Founder and CEO
Augustine Biomedical & Design
Margaret E. Lucas*
Regent, University of Minnesota
Brighton Development
Ruth Bachman*
Chair, Community Advisory Board,
Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota
Susan I. Marvin
Marvin Windows and Doors
Richard B. Beeson, Jr.*
Regent, University of Minnesota
EVP, Corporate Development & Government Relations, Sunrise Bank
David J. Meyer*
CEO & Chairman
Titan Machinery Inc.
Mary K. Brainerd*
President and CEO
Virginia H. Morris
Hubbard Radio
Blythe A. Brenden
Blythe Brenden-Mann Foundation
David C. Mortenson
M.A. Mortenson Co.
Michael B. Fiterman
Liberty Diversified International
Richard T. Ostlund, J.D.
Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie P.A.
Archie Givens, Jr.
Chief Executive Officer
Givens Development
Michael F. Roman
Chief Executive Officer
3M Co.
Kenneth C. Glaser
K. Charles Development
Roger J. Sit
Sit Investment Associates
Kurt E. Heikkila
Founder and CEO
Tundra Companies
Philip E. Soran
Executive Chairman
Deborah L. Hopp
Senior Vice President,
MSP Communications
Publisher, Mpls.St.Paul Magazine, Delta Sky Magazine, and
Esta E. Stecher
Managing Director
The Goldman Sachs Group Inc.
Russell Huffer
Retired Chairman and CEO
Apogee Enterprises
Bradford W. Wallin
Minneapolis Grain Exchange
Ezell Jones
Founder and Managing Partner
Fifth Quarter Integrated Solutions
Theresa B. Ward
SVP Wealth Management,
Wealth Management Advisor
Merrill Lynch
Eric W. Kaler, Ph.D.*
University of Minnesota
Kevin F. Warren, J.D.
Chief Operating Officer
Minnesota Vikings
Erwin A. Kelen
Kelen Ventures
Penny A. Wheeler, M.D.
President and CEO
Allina Health
Richard M. Kruger
Chairman, President, and CEO
Imperial Oil Limited
Jacqueline R. Williams-Roll
Chief Human Resources Officer
General Mills
Beth Keiffer Leonard
Managing Partner
Lurie LLP
Simon KaWo Wong*
Group Chairman
Kampery Group, Hong Kong
Richard L. Lindstrom, M.D.
Minnesota Eye Consultants

* Regent-nominated trustees